This page tells the story in order and stays with the facts. Each section is short and ends with a link to the page that has the full detail. Every number links to a public source. A figure marked as our estimate is ours, not the district's.
Where Chinese immersion happens today
Four schools host the program this fall, with 460 students in all. Counts are the district's beginning-of-year enrollment for 2026-27. 2
- Wolf Springs Elementary: kindergarten through 5th grade immersion, 240 students.
- Valley Park Elementary: 4th and 5th grade only, because the program there is phasing out, 38 students.
- Wolf Springs Middle School: Chinese class in grades 6 to 8, 115 students.
- Overland Trail Middle School: Chinese class in grades 6 to 8, 67 students.
Immersion means half the school day in Mandarin and half in English. 5 The district's October 2026 document does not say how many Chinese teachers it employs today. Its 2022 evaluation counted 22 immersion teachers in all, including 11.0 Mandarin-speaking elementary positions, when Wolf Springs had kindergarten through 5th grade and Valley Park had kindergarten through 4th. 2 This year we estimate about 8 to 9 Chinese teachers: about 6 at Wolf Springs, 1 at Valley Park (its 4th and 5th graders share a Chinese teacher, as reported by parents) and 1 to 2 for middle-school Chinese. Full details: The Facts and Families.
What the district decided
On October 14, 2026 the district announced that elementary immersion and middle-school Chinese end after this school year. 2 From fall 2027, Chinese would be offered only in high school, provided enough students sign up for a class. This school year continues as it is. 1
Families who transferred in may stay at their school and its feeder schools through graduation. Staying keeps the school, not the Chinese classes. 2
Who approved the change, and the routes if no one did: Legal routes.
Why the district says it is doing this
The district describes a real budget problem, and we take it seriously. 6 2 7
- It expects about a $4 million shortfall this year, after more than $6.5 million in cuts made last year.
- It says it moved $18.9 million last year from other district money to cover the special-education funding gap. Kansas state aid is projected to cover 65.3% of excess special-education costs this year, against the 92% the statute calls for, subject to appropriation. 8 9
- It puts the Chinese program's extra cost at $1,257,600 a year, beyond regular classes. 2
- The program was already cut by $800,500 for this year: Chinese classroom aides, the program's design coach, a 3% pay supplement for its teachers, and training. 2
Budget background, in full: The Cost.
How we got here
- 2017-18: Chinese immersion starts at Wolf Springs Elementary. 5
- 2018-19: Valley Park Elementary becomes a second location. 5
- 2020-21: Valley Park enrollment is limited to its own attendance area, plus siblings, because of crowding. 5
- Fall 2022: a district review puts the program's total cost beyond regular classes at just under $1 million a year. 2 An update dated October 24, 2022 estimates that ending both programs would save "around $1.5 million and could be as much as $2 million." The first figure is a cost, the second an estimated saving. 2
- February 6, 2023: administration presents four options to the Board. The Board adopts none and agrees to work with parents through a smaller group. 10 11
- March to October 2023: a task force of parents, teachers, administrators and two Board members meets six times. 12 4
- November 13, 2023: the Board votes 4-3 to close Chinese immersion at Valley Park Elementary and keep it only at Wolf Springs. The plan says current Valley Park students "would continue in the program." 3 4
- August 10, 2026: the Board adopts a goal to complete a K-12 World Language program evaluation and present recommendations. No evaluation has been published. 13 14
- October 14, 2026: the district announces the end of elementary and middle-school Chinese. 1
The 2023 vote, name by name
On November 13, 2023 the Board voted 4-3 to close Chinese immersion at Valley Park Elementary and keep it only at Wolf Springs (the task force's "Proposal B"). Students already at Valley Park could finish. 3 4
- Voted for closing it at Valley Park: Jodie Dietz, Gina Knapp, Tom Mitchell, Jan Kessinger
- Voted against closing it at Valley Park: Jim McMullen, Patrick Hurley, Sonya Evans
The minutes record each vote, not the reasons for it. Four of the seven Board seats are on the November 2, 2027 ballot: Home.
Full timeline, 2015 to 2027-28
Dated events from public records. Items labeled planning endpoint are arithmetic for sunsetting (every enrolled student finishes), not district plans.
-
2015
History
Strategic planning identifies globally competitive opportunities
The district's 2023 report traces the program to its 2015 strategic-planning process. 5
-
2017–18
History
Chinese Immersion launches at Wolf Springs Elementary
A 50/50 dual-language kindergarten option opens. 5
-
2018–19
History
Valley Park Elementary added as a second site
Valley Park enrollment was later limited starting 2020–21 because of facility pressure. 5
-
Feb 6, 2023
Board
Program evaluation presented to the Board
Administration presented four options, including sunset options. Under all four, current immersion students "would take 1.0 Chinese at MS commensurate with their incoming performance level." The Board did not adopt any of them. It agreed to work with parents through a smaller advisory group and return with a revised proposal. 10 11
-
Mar–Oct 2023
-
Apr 25, 2023
History
Requested Data Report
It lists assumptions (Mandarin should continue; the current delivery model is not sustainable), non-negotiables, staffing risks, and a $752,790 mixed actual/budgeted incremental-cost table. 5
-
Nov 13, 2023
-
2024–25
-
Aug 10, 2026
-
Oct 9, 2026
History
District budget video
Reductions so far "got us to $6 million, but it's just not enough"; about $12 million of reserves closed the 2026 fiscal year; "approximately a $4 million deficit" is projected. 6
-
Oct 12, 2026
Board
Regular Board meeting
The agenda includes a policy item on high-school credit for middle-school world-language courses. No Chinese-immersion cancellation item appears. 16
-
Oct 14, 2026
Board
Special Board meeting and roundtable
The agenda lists community input and discussion, with no program action item. KCTV5 reported that the superintendent said cutting the program would save nine teacher positions if students returned to their neighborhood schools. KCTV5 reported the superintendent said that if parents choose to stay at their current schools, staffing would remain the same. 17 18
-
Oct 14, 2026
Program change
District's "October 14, 2026 Board Brief" summarizes the October 12 regular meeting
The district's summary of the Board's October meeting says the Board heard a proposal for a Bond 2027 mail ballot election and will vote on the proposals at the November board meeting. It also reports approval of 2026–27 classified compensation with a 1% increase and of the professional negotiated agreements with a 1% increase to the professional employee salary schedule. The brief does not mention Chinese immersion or world language programming. 19
-
Oct 16, 2026
Program change
District posts a budget and planned-reductions update
The post, "An update on Blue Valley's budget and planned reductions," signed by Superintendent Chapman, lists "adjustments to world language programming that impact Chinese Immersion" among the planned reductions. Most changes take effect in 2027–28 and some begin this school year. 7
-
2026 (date not established)
Program change
District FAQ announces end of elementary and middle-school Chinese
The FAQ's first posting date has not been verified. The approving action or delegation has not been located. 1
-
Nov 9, 2026
-
Nov 19, 2026
-
2026–27
Program change
Current programming continues
Elementary immersion and middle-school Chinese continue through the end of this school year. 1
-
2027–28
-
2031–32
Planning endpoint
Planning endpoint: youngest current cohort finishes 5th grade
This applies only if the proposed no-new-entry pathway were adopted. It is ordinary grade progression, not a district plan or cost forecast.
-
2034–35
Planning endpoint
Planning endpoint: youngest current cohort finishes 8th grade
This is the same proposal and arithmetic, extended through middle school.
What the 2023 record adds. The 2023 process is the most recent Board vote on this program that we have found in the public record. 3 24
Documented
In April 2023 the district's stated task-force assumptions were that Mandarin instruction should continue, the district could maintain its financial obligation to sustain it, the AP Chinese and proficiency goals remained unchanged, and "the current delivery model is not sustainable and needs to be adjusted to increase long-term sustainability." 5
Documented
On November 13, 2023, the Board adopted the Chinese Immersion Task Force recommendation (agenda item 4.A) by a 4–3 vote. Yea: Jodie Dietz, Gina Knapp, Tom Mitchell, Jan H. Kessinger. Nay: Jim McMullen, Patrick Hurley, Sonya Evans. 3
A fair reading of the 2023 record:
The Valley Park precedent
The district has used sunsetting before. Valley Park's last kindergarten class started in fall 2022. The students already enrolled kept moving up a grade each year, and the Board made that official in November 2023. Under that plan the last class, this year's 20 fourth graders, was to finish 5th grade in 2027-28. 2 3 4
Full details: Options and Legal routes.
The options the district looked at
The district's October 2026 document lists four options with estimated savings, from $360,000 in the first year for sunsetting to $1.23 million for the plan it chose. It does not say what each is measured against or what each assumed. 2 The full list is in The Cost.
Three pathways side by side
Terms used on this site. Sunsetting means every current student finishes the pathway and there is no new kindergarten class. Continuing the full program means the program keeps going, including new kindergarten classes. These are the pathways, each shown with what it means for students, classes, teachers and cost.
The district's plan: end K-8 Chinese after 2026-27. - Students: Chinese ends for everyone in grades K-8 after this year. High-school Chinese continues if about 18 students sign up for a class. In the district's 2022 evaluation, Chinese was offered at two of its five high schools, Blue Valley North and Blue Valley Southwest. 1 2 - Classes and teachers: the district says combining classrooms can still reduce positions even when students stay. KCTV5 reported the superintendent said nine teacher positions would be saved if students returned to neighborhood schools, and that staffing would stay the same if families stay. 2 18 - Cost (district numbers): an estimated $1.23 million in savings, year not stated. 2
Sunsetting (every current student finishes). - Students: elementary immersion through 5th grade and Chinese through 8th grade for everyone enrolled now. By ordinary grade progression, the youngest current class finishes 5th grade in 2031-32 and 8th grade in 2034-35. - Classes and teachers: the program gets smaller by one grade each year. Costs fall in steps, because one class can still need a whole section and a qualified teacher. - Cost, district numbers: sunsetting saves an estimated $360,000 in the first year. 2 By our subtraction of the district's two printed figures ($1.23 million less $360,000), sunsetting costs about $870,000 more than ending in year one, if both figures are first-year. - Cost, our estimate: about $707,300 in 2027-28 for kindergarten through 8th grade, less each year after, ending after 2034-35. High school is not estimated.
Continuing the full program. - Students: everyone enrolled now finishes, and new kindergarten classes keep starting. - Classes and teachers: each new class moves up a grade and needs its own teacher, so the added cost grows each year. The district's own page still says it "plans for participating families to make a K-12 commitment to the immersion program." 15 - Cost, district numbers: the district puts this year's extra cost at $1,257,600, about $2,730 for each of 460 students. 2 - Cost, our estimate: about $763,500 in 2027-28, about $56,200 more than sunsetting that year (preliminary parent-model estimates under review). Each new kindergarten class adds a pair of classrooms, one Chinese-side and one English-side; how much of that is extra cost depends on where those children would otherwise go to school.
Our base estimate uses a simplified assumption: 50% of immersion students stay at their current school if the program ends. This is a modeling assumption, not a prediction of what families will do; we do not yet have the attendance-area and transfer data needed to model those choices accurately. It uses $91,477 per teaching position and today's dollars. Full details: The Cost and Options.
How many teaching positions
Almost all of the program's extra cost is teachers, but the district's figure is not the salaries of Chinese teachers. The district estimates this year's extra K-8 staffing cost at $1,080,000: the net teaching positions it expects to save when separate immersion and regular classrooms are combined and students move between schools. That can affect Chinese-side, English-side and regular classroom teachers, and class sizes. 2 At our modeled $91,477 per position, $1,080,000 is about 11.8 positions (our division); KCTV5 reported the superintendent said nine, scope not specified. 18 For 2027-28, kindergarten through 8th grade, our preliminary model gives about 4.5 positions if every immersion student stays and about 6.5 in our base estimate, both from a simplified Chinese-side staffing proxy, and about 10.4 from a preliminary extrapolation of the district's 2022 net-classroom method to next year's classes. None is a verified reduction in paid positions, and the district has not published a current school-by-school calculation. Using the district's 2022 classroom method, our model comes within about 1% of the district's staffing figure for this year ($1,068,700 against $1,080,000). We can't verify that this is how the district calculated its current figure. The difference reflects our placement and staffing assumptions. With what we think is realistic, about half staying, ending the program saves about $763,500 next year rather than about $1.12 million from our extrapolation of the district's 2022 worksheet (not a verified district estimate); the full range is in The Cost. Class sizes under each case are below.
The program has also changed since the district's 2022 review. It is about 40% smaller, and most of the support costs the district counted then, classroom aides, a coach and teacher stipends, were cut this year. What remains is mostly the cost of older immersion classes running below full. 2 How the estimate has changed
Our reading
What these savings actually mean
The district's projected staffing savings require eliminating teaching positions that would otherwise be funded, potentially through layoffs or by not replacing departing teachers, while consolidating classrooms could increase class sizes for both former immersion and regular students. If those positions would already have been eliminated because of declining enrollment or other budget cuts, the district cannot reasonably attribute those savings to ending Chinese immersion. One distinction matters: teachers can be reassigned without losing their jobs, and the district can still save money if those transfers eliminate the need to hire replacement teachers elsewhere. Real savings require a real reduction in positions that would otherwise be funded, and that reduction can have consequences for students throughout the district. 2 18
Class sizes at Wolf Springs if the program ends
If the program ends, the district says it can combine classes using its class size guidelines, even when students stay. 2 That is where the savings come from. Our cost model projects next year (2027-28) at Wolf Springs Elementary, if every immersion student stays:
Wolf Springs goes from 25 classrooms to 22, and classes in grades 3 to 5 grow to about 21, 25.5 and 27 students. Kindergarten to 2nd grade keep the same number of rooms.
Wolf Springs Elementary, 2027–28: average class size (students per classroom) if every immersion student stays. A projection, not a district figure. Board class-size guidelines: kindergarten 23, 1st 24, 2nd 25, 3rd 27, 4th and 5th 28. 5 Regular classes are this year’s posted class list moved up one grade, with later kindergartens at 41 25; immersion counts are the district’s fall 2026 counts moved up one grade. 2 Existing immersion classes move up a grade with modeled attrition (about 5% a year); a new kindergarten of 46 is assumed. Two or three students can change a grade’s room count.
| Grade | Regular class, program continues | Immersion class | Average class without immersion | Rooms, with → without the program |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 20.5 | 23.0 | 21.8 | 4 → 4 |
| 1st | 20.5 | 22.0 | 21.3 | 4 → 4 |
| 2nd | 23.0 | 16.0 | 19.5 | 4 → 4 |
| 3rd | 14.5 | 17.0 | 21.0 | 4 → 3 |
| 4th | 20.3 | 20.5 | 25.5 | 5 → 4 |
| 5th | 19.5 | 20.5 | 26.7 | 4 → 3 |
| Whole school (K–5) | 19.8 (average of all classes) | counted in the average | 22.5 (average) | 25 → 22 |
This year's numbers, three ways it could go (illustration)
How many immersion students stay changes the picture. Using this year's students as an illustration, not our cost model:
Each cell shows classes, then average class size.
| Grade (this year) | District class size guideline | Today | Every immersion student stays | About half of immersion students stay (our estimate) | Only Wolf Springs-area students stay (about 1 in 3) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten | 23 | 4 (about 22) | 4 (about 22) | 3 (about 21) | 3 (about 19) |
| 1st | 24 | 4 (20) | 4 (20) | 3 (21) | 3 (about 19) |
| 2nd | 25 | 4 (about 16) | 3 (about 22) | 2 (about 24) | 2 (about 21) |
| 3rd | 27 | 5 (about 21) | 4 (26) | 4 (about 21) | 3 (about 25) |
| 4th | 28 | 4 (about 21) | 3 (about 27) | 3 (about 20) | 2 (about 27) |
| 5th | 28 | 4 (about 20) | 3 (about 26) | 3 (20) | 2 (about 27) |
| Students at Wolf Springs | 497 | 497 | about 377 | about 337 | |
| Total K to 5 classrooms (one teacher each) | 25 | 21 (4 fewer) | 18 (7 fewer) | 15 (10 fewer) |
- If the district kept every teacher instead, as KCTV5 reported the superintendent said for families who stay, class sizes would stay the same. 18
- About 1 in 3: in October 2022 the district counted 94 of the 283 Wolf Springs immersion students living in Wolf Springs' own attendance area. This year's share is not published. 2
- If only those students stay, Wolf Springs would be about a third smaller: about 337 students instead of 497, and 15 classes instead of 25.
- Combining classes saves positions by making some classes larger. It can increase class sizes for both former immersion and regular students, and the positions involved can be English-side or regular classroom teachers, not only Chinese teachers. The district's October update says its focus includes "maintaining class sizes." 2
How we got these numbers: each grade's students divided by the district's class size guideline, rounded up (for example, 65 ÷ 25 = 2.6, so 3 classes). For the other columns, half or two-thirds of each grade's immersion students leave before dividing. Guidelines from the district's 2023 report 5; immersion counts are the district's 2; other counts are from the school's posted class list, which is unofficial. These are whole classes at one school with this year's students. Our cost model uses next year's (2027-28) classes, with whole classrooms at Wolf Springs and fractions of a position elsewhere, so its numbers differ.
What is next
The Board's next regular meeting is Monday, November 9, 2026 at 5:30 p.m., with Open Forum before it. 20 21 The Board's own 2026-27 goal is a K-12 World Language evaluation with recommendations. 13